Are DUI Laws Changing in New Jersey?
Changes in DUI Laws for First-Time Offenders
Have you ever been subjected to a breathalyzer test? Did you feel confident that your results were accurate?
According to a growing number of experts, breathalyzers may not be as accurate as we thought in the past. On top of that, losing driving privileges puts a lot of strain on individuals who need to work and support their families.
In response to these concerns, lawmakers in New Jersey have passed new laws that change the penalties for first-time DUI charges. Learn everything you need to know below.
New Jersey Changes DUI Laws
Starting in December, individuals who are convicted of driving while under the influence for the first time will no longer have to endure a lengthy driver’s license suspension period. Instead, the accused will be allowed to regain their right to drive. To earn back their rights, the accused must install an ignition interlock device in their car.
These devices are meant to prevent offenders from getting behind the wheel if they’ve had anything to drink. With these devices, the driver won’t be able to start the car until they’ve blown into a mouthpiece and tested clean.
What Should I Do If I’m Charged with a DUI in New Jersey?
The intention of these new laws is to prevent alcohol-related car accidents. The technology exists to prevent intoxicated drivers from getting behind the wheel without having to incarcerate them, so many people are in favor of this new plan.
If you get arrested in New Jersey for a first-time DUI, then you may be eligible to get your driving privileges back through this new law. That doesn’t mean you’ll be immune from other penalties, though.
In New Jersey, a DUI conviction means you could be subject to significant fines. These fines may range from $750 to $1,000. You may also be sentenced to 30 days in jail and be ordered to attend up to 48 hours of alcohol rehabilitation courses.
Getting a conviction in New Jersey means you’ll have to have the interlock device installed for at least three months. If your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was over .10 at the time of the arrest, then you’ll have to have the device on your car for seven to twelve months.
Contact an Experienced Cherry Hill DWI Defense Attorney About Your Drunk Driving Charges in New Jersey
Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jersey? A drunk driving conviction could leave you with a permanent record, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. Gelman Law represents clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Cherry Hill, Burlington County, Camden County, and throughout New Jersey. Call 856-474-1450 or fill out our confidential online contact form to schedule a consultation about your case. We have an office located at 1940 Rt. 70 East, Suite 4, Cherry Hill, NJ 08003.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.