Provide the information below or call us at:856.861.4236
South Jersey Failure to Register as a Sex Offender Defense Attorney
Knowledgeable Sex Offender Registration Defense Lawyer at Gelman Law, LLC Handles Complex Criminal Cases in Camden County, Burlington County, and Throughout New Jersey
Under Meghan’s Law, individuals convicted of certain sex offenses are required to register as sex offenders. In many cases, the convicted are required to reregister over a set period of time—sometimes over the course of their lifetime. If the convicted individual fails to do so, they can be charged with an additional crime for failing to register as a sex offender—a crime that comes with charges separate from the initial sex offense for which the individual was convicted. If you are charged with failure to register as a sex offender in New Jersey, experienced South Jersey failure to register as a sex offender defense attorney David Gelman at Gelman Law, LLC can defend your case and will protect your constitutional rights. Contact us today for a free consultation about your case.
Facing Charges For A Sex Crime And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.
New Jersey Statute N.J.S.A. 2C:7-2 and Failure to Register as a Sex Offender Charges
According to N.J.S.A. 2C:7-2 – the New Jersey statute on registering as a sex offender – individuals found guilty of certain sex offenses must register as a sex offender in New Jersey. Specifically, they must do so if they were convicted of aggravated sexual assault, attempted aggravated assault, sexual assault, attempted sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual contact, or attempted aggravated criminal sexual contact, but only if the court believes the offender’s actions were or are compulsive and repetitive.
Other crimes that will require registration as a sexual offender include endangering the welfare of a child; luring or enticing a minor; criminal sexual contact with a minor; kidnapping and/or false imprisonment of a minor; promoting the prostitution of a minor; or any attempt to commit any of these crimes.
These are all crimes that are punishable by fines and even jail time, but a failure to register as a sex offender once convicted for any of these crimes is an additional charge that the accused can face. This means that even if you are released from prison for any of these crimes but fail to register as a sex offender or commit other punishable violations that are related to your sex offender registration, you can end up back in jail on new charges.
There are many steps and processes involved in registering as a sex offender, so contact South Jersey failure to register as a sex offender defense attorney David Gelman at Gelman Law, LLC for assistance with your registration or to help you fight your charges.
A Sex Offender Registration Defense Lawyer in Cherry Hill, NJ Can Help With Your Registration Requirements
People who are registered as sex offenders are required to fill out all of the relevant forms that are given to them by the applicable agency. These forms all include details on where the individual lives. If your address may soon change or recently changed, you must update your sex offender registration information. You must inform the agency of any address changes a minimum of 10 days before your address changes, and you must also inform the agency of any changes in employment or school enrollment within 5 days of such changes.
Furthermore, registered sex offenders must provide the relevant agency with data on their access to or use of computers and internet-connected devices. A failure to provide the relevant agency with this information or changes in this information can lead to new criminal charges against you.
Get Advice From An Experienced Sex Crimes Defense Lawyer. All You Have To Do Is Call 856-861-4236 To Receive Your Free Case Evaluation.
Consult With a Sex Offender Registration Defense Lawyer in Camden County, NJ at Gelman Law, LLC Today
If you or someone you care about has been charged with a failure to register as a sex offender, an experienced South Jersey failure to register as a sex offender defense attorney at Gelman Law, LLC will fight for your rights. Contact us today for assistance with your case and a free, in-depth evaluation of your legal options with our dedicated team.
Frequently Asked Questions About Facing Criminal Charges for Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in New Jersey
There are many ways we can defend you against charges of failing to register as a sex offender. We will craft a defense that is tailored to fit the unique circumstances of your case, but generally speaking, some of the more effective defenses that may be available to you include:
– Present reasonable doubt regarding any of the essential elements of the charges you face;
– Prove that the failure to register was a mistake, which can improve your chances of a lenient sentence or a dismissal of charges;
– Demonstrate that you fully complied with all requirements of your registration and that the new charges of failing to register are not based on fact.
Our South Jersey failure to register as a sex offender defense attorney will strive to minimize the applicable penalties you face for a failure to register as a sex offender. Failure to register as a sex offender is a third-degree felony in New Jersey that carries fines of up to $15,000 and/or prison time of between 3 and 5 years upon conviction. You can also face the loss of many of your civil rights, such as the right to own a firearm, vote in elections, or perform jury duty. The goal of our South Jersey failure to register as a sex offender defense attorney will be to minimize or dismiss these charges, and we can adopt the legal strategies outlined above to do so. Contact us today to learn more about how we can help you overcome the charges and legal obstacles you face.