Aggravated Assault Defense Lawyer South Jersey
New Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer Tenaciously Defends Clients Accused of Aggravated Assault in Burlington County, Camden County and Throughout NJ
While all violent crimes carry severe repercussions under New Jersey law, when certain aggravating factors are present, the potential consequences will be even more serious. The primary difference between an assault charge and an aggravated assault charge involves the alleged perpetrator’s intent—the intent to cause bodily injury is classified as assault or simple assault, while the intent to cause serious bodily injury rises to the level of aggravated assault.
Facing Aggravated Assault Charges And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.
At Gelman Law, LLC, our skilled aggravated assault charges lawyer and team of experts have the resources and the drive necessary to formulate the most effective possible defense strategy in your case. Because the stakes are so high when your future and freedom are on the line, it is important to contact a capable and reputable defense lawyer as soon as possible after you are arrested and charged with aggravated assault in Cherry Hill or elsewhere in New Jersey. Our team puts our experience working on both sides of the table to work in every case we take on, and we will conduct a thorough and independent investigation into what happened in your case to identify and analyze every existing piece of evidence in your case.
Get Advice From An Experienced Aggravated Assault Charges Lawyer. All You Have To Do Is Call 856-474-1450 To Receive Your Free Case Evaluation.
Circumstances Where Assault is “Aggravated” Under New Jersey Law
Aggravated assault is a charge you could face if an assault was more serious, meaning that certain aggravating factors are present. Aggravated assault often involves an attempt to:
- Recklessly cause bodily injury to another person with a deadly weapon.
- Cause bodily injury to someone else with a deadly weapon.
- Cause serious bodily injury to someone purposefully, negligently or recklessly.
- Recklessly point a firearm at another person, whether they believe it to be loaded or not (and regardless of whether the firearm was, in fact, loaded),
- Knowingly cause bodily injury through the use of setting a fire or creating an explosion,
- Assault a member of certain protected groups, such as school teachers, police officers, firefighters and other emergency responders.
- Learn more about simple assault charges.
Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon
You can be charged for second-degree aggravated assault for inflicting serious bodily injury or if the assault occurred while you were eluding an officer of the law. Second-degree aggravated assault in New Jersey is punishable by five to ten years in prison and a fine of up to $150,000.
For the less serious third-degree aggravated assault charges, you can still be sentenced to between three to five years in prison and fined up to $15,000. If the charge is fourth-degree aggravated assault, you can be sentenced to up to 18 months in prison and fined up to $10,000.
In addition to jail time and financial penalties, other forms of punishment may include:
- Loss of your ability to own a firearm,
- Anger management classes,
- Restitution to the victim of the assault,
- Electronic monitoring and probation,
- Difficulty obtaining employment in certain professions.
Former Prosecutor Works Tirelessly to Develop Effective Defense Strategies for Clients Facing Aggravated Assault Charges in Camden County, Burlington County or Anywhere in NJ
In our years of experience both prosecuting and defending aggravated assault charges in Cherry Hill, we have come to value the importance of all of the evidence in your case—it is often the small details that can make or break a case, and we are committed to leaving no stone unturned in building the strongest possible defense for you. We work not only to poke holes in the prosecution’s case, but also to build our own case in your favor, which involves investigating to find:
- Any eyewitnesses to the alleged assault,
- Whether the prosecution’s eyewitnesses are credible sources,
- Any video surveillance that may have captured the events,
- Evidence that points to mutual consent or self-defense.
In many cases, it may be possible to have an aggravated assault charge reduced to simple assault if we can show that the prosecution lacks the evidence necessary to support the more serious charges. The exact strategy available in your aggravated assault case will vary based upon the unique circumstances of your case, but in all cases, our first step will be to fight to have you released from jail on bail or your own recognizance. Even if you or a loved one are currently in jail, call us today so that we can go to work immediately in exploring all possible strategies for securing your freedom. Often times clients are facing multiple charges at the same time including drug charges, weapons charges, domestic violence charges, restraining orders and alcohol charges. Rest assured we can help you with any and all charges you are facing.
Schedule a Free Initial Consultation with Experienced Cherry Hill Aggravated Assault Charges Lawyer David Gelman
Your future is too important to risk going it alone if you have been arrested and charged with aggravated assault in New Jersey. Regardless of how the alleged assault occurred in your case, you need a skilled and reputable criminal defense lawyer on your side to protect your rights and identify every available defense in your case. Call or contact our dedicated aggravated assault defense lawyer at Gelman Law, LLC to schedule a free initial consultation to discuss options in your case.
Frequently Asked Questions About Aggravated Assault Charges in New Jersey
No. Even if you were resisting an arrest that you truly believed to be illegal, this is not a defense to aggravated assault charges under New Jersey law.
Self-defense and mutual consent to the fight that took place are both potential defense strategies, but neither are as simple as they may seem. For example, the prosecution may attempt to show that you fought back using unreasonable levels of force under the circumstances or may have evidence to support a claim that even though the fight was consensual, the point was reached where your opponent was essentially rendered defenseless. If you continued the fight past this point, the prosecution may still be able to prove that the aggravated assault charges are justified. Our skilled lawyer works both to identify every available defense in your case and also to rebut any evidence that the prosecution may have to show that a defense is invalid.