South Jersey Reckless Driving Defense Lawyers
Talented Defense Lawyers Help Clients Fight Reckless Driving Charges in Camden County, Burlington County and Throughout New Jersey
A reckless driving ticket is one of the more serious traffic-related offenses at the disposal of New Jersey law enforcement. Many traffic offenses are based on carelessness—you weren’t paying attention and missed a stop sign or you didn’t realize you were speeding. Reckless driving, on the other hand, is a violation based on a claim that you were intentionally trying to put others in danger.
Reckless driving charges often accompany more serious charges, such as DUI/DWI charges. Whether you are facing a litany of charges or a single reckless driving ticket, you need a strong lawyer to prevent imposition of serious penalties. At Gelman Law, LLC, we forcefully advocate to have your reckless driving charges dropped or downgraded. With past experience in the Burlington County prosecutor’s office, we know what it takes to build the strongest possible defense in your case.
Even if no jail time results, conviction for reckless driving can result in a suspended license and will almost certainly result in significant insurance premium increases. You have the right to fight reckless driving charges—and, unlike other traffic-related violations, will usually be obligated to handle your case in court.
To learn more about how our South Jersey reckless driving defense lawyers can help, schedule a free case review today. You can call our office or fill out our online contact form.
Penalties for a Reckless Driving Conviction in Burlington County, NJ
Reckless driving in New Jersey can be treated as a criminal offense. That means you may face jail time in addition to financial penalties and driving privilege restrictions. New Jersey law enforcement officers have discretion when it comes to charging you with reckless driving versus careless driving.
The primary difference between reckless driving and careless driving is intent. In many cases, we may be able to argue to have your charges downgraded to careless driving, which carries much less severe penalties. New Jersey law defines reckless driving as:
“Driving heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property”
Penalties for the basic reckless driving ticket vary depending upon whether it is your first or a subsequent offense, as follows:
First offense reckless driving conviction carries the possibility of:
- 5 points on your driving record,
- Up to $200 in fines,
- Up to 60 days in jail,
- Driver’s license suspension for up to 90 days.
Second offense reckless driving conviction carries the possibility of:
- 5 points on your driving record,
- Up to $500 in fines,
- Up to 90 days in jail,
- Driver’s license suspension for up to six months.
Careless driving, on the other hand, will usually result in only two points added to your driving record and a maximum of 15 days in jail (a punishment rarely used). Even if jail time is not awarded, points on your driving record are important for a number of reasons, including:
- New Jersey imposes a financial penalty (a surcharge) if you accumulate 6 or more points on your record within any three-year period (the surcharge will apply annually for three years),
- Your license can be suspended if you accumulate 12 points on your driving record,
- Your car insurance premiums are usually based at least partially on your driving record—the more points on your record, the more your premiums will cost.
Qualified Reckless Driving Defense Lawyer Advocates for Clients Accused of Reckless Driving in South Jersey
Whether the police officer charges you with reckless driving or careless driving is largely a judgement call—especially in cases where DUI/DWI is not an issue. Importantly, we will challenge whether you had the necessary intent to support a reckless driving charge. Reckless driving charges must be based upon “willful or wanton disregard”. Typical examples include:
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol,
- Driving at excessive speeds,
- Speeding to elude a police officer,
- Weaving through traffic at dangerous speeds.
At Gelman Law, LLC, we advocate on your behalf in court and negotiate with the prosecution behind the scenes to demonstrate that you did not intend to drive unsafely.
Many clients make the mistake of defending their reckless driving charges on their own. While self-defense is permitted, one of the key advantages to having an experienced lawyer by your side is preparation. Often, the prosecution and law enforcement officers who will testify in court are not well-prepared.
At Gelman Law, LLC, our experienced lawyers meticulously investigate and prepare your case—which, in many cases, can take the prosecution off guard and result in reduced charges.
Schedule a Free Consultation with Our Experienced Reckless Driving Defense Lawyers in Camden County Today
The skilled reckless driving defense lawyers at Gelman Law, LLC fight to get the best results possible for our clients in reckless driving cases. We keep our practice small so that we can give every case the attention needed to get the best available outcome. Schedule a free case review to learn more about your rights and how we can defend your South Jersey reckless driving charges.
Frequently Asked Questions About Reckless Driving Charges in Burlington County, NJ
Yes. Reckless driving is usually handled as a criminal matter and cases are heard in the Municipal Court in the city where you were ticketed.
Charging you with more offenses gives the prosecution more chances to convict. In general, the strategy puts you under greater pressure to accept a plea bargain or your punishment rather than challenge the prosecution’s case in court.
In addition to lack of required intent, depending upon the facts of your case, possible defenses may include arguing that:
-You did not put a person or property in danger,
-There were flaws in the testing procedures used to determine whether you were driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol if your reckless driving charges accompanied DUI/DWI,
-Police bias, including bias based on race, ethnicity or sexual orientation.