What’s the Penalty for Driving Without a License in New Jersey?
A driver’s license is required to drive a vehicle in all 50 states. However, the legal consequences that you might deal with if you drive without one, can vary from state to state. If you were recently pulled over for driving without a driver’s license in New Jersey, it is important to know the legal charges that you might receive as a result.
New Jersey Penalties for Driving Without a License
The penalties that you could receive if you are pulled over without a driver’s license depend on a few things:
- If you have a valid license: Being pulled over and not having a license versus not having your driver’s license on you are two different things.
- Whether you have ever held a valid license: Additionally, an expired license is different than never having held a valid driver’s license before.
- If your driver’s license is currently suspended or revoked: Driving with a license that is suspended or revoked could lead to more charges.
- If the driver is underage: Drivers who are under the legal age may deal with other types of charges if they are pulled over while driving a vehicle.
When you are pulled over, the first thing that the officer will do is to request your driver’s license and registration. If you do not have your driver’s license, they may request more information or look up your driving record. It is best to be truthful as to why you don’t have your license because they can pull up any license suspensions or information on a revoked license.
New Jersey has the following penalties for driving without a license:· Required proof of license: If you have a valid driver’s license, but don’t have it on you when you are pulled over, the officer may request that you send in a copy within a specified time limit. In addition to this requirement, you may also have to pay fines. Failing to provide proof of a license within the time period could lead to your license being suspended or revoked.
- Legal fines: Driving without a valid license can lead to expensive legal fines. In New Jersey, these fines can be up to $2,000.
- Jail time: Depending on the details of the incident, you may be required to serve up to 60 days in jail.
- Inability to file for a license: If you are found driving without a driver’s license, you may be prevented from filing for a license or have to wait a minimum period of time before filing.
The legal consequences of driving without a license could be even worse, depending on the details of the traffic stop. If another driver is injured in a vehicle accident, then you may be met with additional legal charges. It is also possible that you could be personally liable for damages in the event of an accident. The police department may also add points to your driver’s license, which could lead to a suspension or an increase in insurance rates.
Discuss Your Traffic Stop With a Lawyer
If you were recently pulled over without a valid license in New Jersey, it may make sense to discuss your case with a lawyer. You could potentially be met with jail time or a suspension of your driver’s license. Your lawyer will evaluate the charges and determine the best defense for your case going forward.
Contact a Camden County Traffic Lawyer to Discuss Your License Suspension Case in New Jersey
Were you recently pulled over without a driver’s license in New Jersey? Don’t sit around and wait to find out if your license will be suspended or revoked. Right now, you need a knowledgeable traffic attorney on your side, helping you understand your charges and working to have them reduced. The skilled attorneys at Gelman Law, LLC represent clients with suspended and revoked driver’s licenses in Camden County, Cherry Hill, Burlington County, Gloucester County, and throughout New Jersey. Call (856) 474-1450 or fill out our online contact form to schedule a consultation about your case. We have an office conveniently located at 1940 W. Route 70, Suite #4, Cherry Hill, NJ 08003.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.