What You Need to Know About New Jersey Marijuana Laws in 2022
Many people in New Jersey have patiently been waiting for recreational marijuana to become legal. While the state approved the legalization of marijuana following an election, it has taken some time for them to figure out the laws. Understanding what’s legal and illegal is important so you can avoid getting into trouble with the new laws.
Is Recreational Marijuana Legal in New Jersey?
Yes, the use of recreational marijuana is legal in New Jersey. However, there are some limitations, like the fact that you’re only allowed to buy up to one ounce at a time. You’re also only allowed to have up to six ounces on you at a time.
You must also be at least 21 years of age to buy or use marijuana. It’s illegal to supply anyone under the age of 21 years with marijuana. While you can legally buy marijuana for personal use, you must buy it from an approved seller in New Jersey. Currently, there are 12 approved dispensaries. Once you buy it from one of these approved locations, you’re only allowed to use it at home.
The use of marijuana in public, similar to public intoxication, is still illegal. It’s also illegal to drive a vehicle while using marijuana. Even passengers could get into trouble since it’s not legal to use marijuana in public.
At home though, there are no limitations as to how you use your marijuana. As long as you’re within the legal limit and in the comfort of your own home, you can use it in any way that you want.
What to Expect Going Forward
New Jersey residents may have more buying opportunities in the future. The state expects that additional dispensaries will open up, but it will take some time. In the meantime, it’s illegal to buy marijuana from anyone else besides an approved seller. It’s also illegal to sell marijuana, even to a friend. Users are also still not permitted to grow their own marijuana at home.
Currently, these laws only apply to New Jersey. This means if you travel out of the state, it’s best not to bring marijuana with you because you could be charged in that state for possession of marijuana. If additional states legalize marijuana, you may be able to move freely between states, as long as you follow both states’ laws
The state is becoming more strict with those who break the laws. In an attempt to regulate and control the sales of marijuana, they are cracking down on illegal sellers and home growers. This means that if you are charged for buying from an unapproved seller, or for selling marijuana, you could be charged.
When to Contact a Drug Defense Lawyer
While recreational marijuana is legal in New Jersey, it’s still possible to get into trouble. If you’re charged with public intoxication or illegal possession of marijuana, it’s important to reach out to a lawyer as soon as possible. Drug charges can still lead to jail time and expensive fines. They can also leave you with a criminal record, making it difficult to maintain or find employment.
Contact an Experienced Cherry Hill Drug Defense Attorney About Your Marijuana Drug Crime Charges in New Jersey
Have you been charged with a drug-related offense in New Jersey? A drug crime conviction can carry with it heavy fines, jail time, and driver’s license suspension! That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified drug defense lawyer about your case. The lawyers at Gelman Law, LLC represent clients charged with use, possession, production, distribution, and related drug offenses in Cherry Hill, Camden County, Burlington County, Gloucester County, and throughout New Jersey. Call (856) 861-4236 or fill out our confidential online form to schedule a free consultation about your case. We have an office located at 1940 W Rte 70 #4, Cherry Hill, NJ 08003.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.