Summer Can Lead to DUI Charges For NJ College Students
A single mistake can have a lasting effect on your child’s future. They are careful for so many years, avoiding behaviors like drinking and driving. Then, they decide to let loose on their first summer vacation since starting college. A few drinks too many then leads to a DUI charge, which impacts their future.
Potential DUI Consequences in New Jersey
Understanding the potential DUI consequences is important. In New Jersey, a DUI is a traffic offense. Although it is not a felony charge, it still can lead to harsh consequences. A first-time DUI charge in New Jersey can lead to the following:
- Driver’s license suspension for three months
- A minimum of 12 hours of jail time, up to 30 days
- Fines between $250-$400
- A $1,000 auto insurance surcharge for three years
- Potential requirement of an Ignition Interlock system for 6-12 months
- Alcohol assessment and classes
Other factors, like if the driver’s BAC is over .10 percent could lead to harsher consequences, like the driver’s license being suspended for longer or more expensive fines. Teens don’t always know how much alcohol is needed to be over the limit. Additionally, while away from college, they may travel more to attend parties.
It is also important to note that in New Jersey, if a teen is under 21 years, which is the legal drinking age, they could receive a DUI even if they are below the legal limit.
What to Do Following a First-Time DUI Charge
If it is your teen’s first DUI charge, you may have options available. However, it is important to explore these options as soon as possible. DUI charges can have lasting effects on your teen, including ones that can follow them beyond graduation and into their career. For example, some employers may require a background check, especially if the teen will be driving a company vehicle. A DUI can disqualify students for these positions. A DUI can also disqualify students for some student loans or scholarships. A DUI can also guarantee an increase in insurance rates, which tend to already be high for younger drivers.
Additionally, losing your driver’s license can make it difficult to manage school and work responsibilities. You may lose your job or even your ability to go to school.
Talk With a DUI Defense Lawyer
While you may not be able to prevent all of these consequences from occurring, it is best to discuss your case with a DUI defense lawyer soon. A lawyer is familiar with the available defenses, including programs that may be available for first-time offenders. But, you only have a limited amount of time to consider your available options.
It may be possible to take alcohol abuse classes to reduce your charges. But, you need a lawyer who is familiar with New Jersey’s laws and the implications of a DUI charge on someone who is young with their whole future in front of them. We will work hard to ensure that your child’s legal rights and future are carefully considered with each step as we navigate the DUI charges.
Contact An Experienced Cherry Hill DUI Defense Attorney About Your Drunk Driving Charges in New Jersey
Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jersey? A drunk driving conviction could leave you with a permanent record, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. The lawyers at Gelman Law represent clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Camden County, Cherry Hill, Burlington County, Gloucester County, and throughout New Jersey. Call 856-474-1450 or fill out our confidential online form to schedule a consultation about your case. We have an office located at 850 Rt 70 WestCherry Hill, NJ 08002.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.