Dealing With DWI and Reckless Driving Charges
Reckless driving is defined by the state of New Jersey as “heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property ”heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property.”
A driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) charge in NJ is a rather serious crime. You will be charged with DWI if you fail a field sobriety test such as a physical sobriety test (walking in a straight line or following the officer’s finger with your eyes) and upon arrest and observation, your blood alcohol content is found to be higher than 0.08 on the provision of a breath sample for an Alcotest breath test device.
How To Deal With a DWI and Reckless Driving Charge
Most times intoxicated drivers are stopped by police due to their reckless driving. A reckless B driving charge is serious enough and only becomes more serious when compounded by a DWI charge. Here are a few simple tips on how to handle such a situation.
Cooperate Fully With the Local Law Enforcement
Do not resist arrest in any form. Perform all the field sobriety tests requested by the officer and allow yourself to be escorted down to the station if the situation demands it. At the station you are obligated to provide a breath sample for an analysis of your blood alcohol content (BAC), otherwise, your license will be automatically revoked.
A BAC over 0.08% in an individual over the age of 21 years is considered DWI. While a blood alcohol level as low as 0.01% in an individual under the age of 21 is considered DWI since the legal drinking age is 21.
Follow the Due Process
You will be ticketed and on that ticket, your court date will be provided to you. This is usually within a few days of the incident. At this point, you must seek legal representation as this may help you mitigate the consequences early on.
You will be arraigned before a judge and expected to plead either guilty or not guilty. If you are charged with reckless driving and/or DWI you may be subject to certain fines and punishments.
The Fines and Punishments You May Expect
The fines include penalties imposed ranging from $250 to $1,000 depending on factors such as whether or not this was their first DWI conviction. The driver may also spend up to 180 days in jail. Other punishments include participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) program, insurance surcharges of $3,000 to $4,500, your driver’s license may be suspended for three months to ten years (depending on which offense this is), and installation of an ignition interlock device for certain offenders.
Contact an Experienced DUI Defense Attorney About Your Charges in New Jersey
Were you charged with reckless driving and/or driving while intoxicated? Such a charge is no trivial issue and can lead to significant legal and financial consequences. That is why you must speak with a qualified DUI defense attorney about your case. Gelman Law, LLC represents clients in Cherry Hill, Camden County, Burlington County, and Gloucester County. Call us at 856-861-4236 or fill out our confidential online contact form to schedule a consultation about your case. We have an office located at 850 Rt 70 West Cherry Hill, NJ 08002.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.