Everything You Need to Know About Felony Charges in NJ
Felony offenses in New Jersey are considered the most serious crimes you can commit. Murder, kidnapping, and armed robbery are all defined as felonies in our state. As expected, felony crimes carry much heavier penalties than misdemeanors do.
What you might not know, though, is that felony crimes are categorized into different degrees, and each level carries different punishments. Were you recently arrested and charged with a felony offense? If so, then it’s important to gauge whether your crime is considered a first, second, third, or fourth-degree offense because the penalties widely vary between these four. Learn more about each felony-level below.
Third and Fourth-Degree Felonies
Fourth-degree felony crimes are among the least serious of felony offenses in New Jersey. Despite being the lowest level of felony you can be charged with, these type of crimes still carries the potential for prison time with it. Here’s an overview of a few types of third and fourth-degree crimes:
- Possession of an illegal handgun (3rd degree)
- Burglary (3rd degree)
- Heroin possession (3rd degree)
- Possession of large amounts of marijuana (4th degree)
- Shoplifting $200-$500 worth of items (4th degree)
- Criminal sexual contact (4th degree)
Fourth-degree felonies are punishable by up to 18 months in prison and fines of up to $10,000. Third-degree crimes carry potential penalties of five years behind bars and fines of up to $15,000.
If you want to learn more about the differences between misdemeanor and felony drug charges, click the link.
First and Second-Degree Felonies
First and second-degree offenses include the most serious crimes one can commit in New Jersey. They also carry the most severe penalties. Here are a few examples of what is considered first and second-degree crimes in our state:
- Aggravated assault (2nd degree)
- Eluding police officers (2nd degree)
- Aggravated sexual assault (1st degree)
- Distribution of cocaine (1st degree)
- Armed robbery (1st degree)
If you’re convicted of a second-degree offense, then you could be subject to significant prison time ranging anywhere from five to ten years. You could also get hit with fines of up to $150,000. First-degree crimes are punishable by 10-20 years in prison and fines up to $200,000. You will almost certainly serve prison time if you’re convicted of a second or first-degree felony crime.
Contact an Experienced Cherry Hill Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Felony Charges in Cherry Hill
Were you arrested or charged with a felony in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. Gelman Law, LLC has successfully represented clients charged with felonies in Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, and Mercer Counties, and throughout New Jersey. Call 856-861-4236 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 1940 Rt. 70 East, Suite 4, Cherry Hill, New Jersey 08003.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.