Thanksgiving is a holiday filled with food, family and celebration. It’s also one of the busiest days for road travel on New Jersey streets. After a few alcoholic drinks on Thanksgiving night, you might be tempted to get behind the wheel and drive home. However, many people are stopped and charged for a DUI over the Thanksgiving Weekend.
What Are the Potential Penalties for a DUI Charge on Thanksgiving?
The night before Thanksgiving Day has been nicknamed “Black Wednesday” because of the increase in partying due to many people having the next day and weekend off from work. If you are pulled over and charged with a DUI, you could be facing serious criminal penalties that will affect you, your family and your future. Penalties for a first-time offender with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least .08 percent in New Jersey include:
- Loss of driving privileges for up to 3 months
- Up to $400 in fines
- A possible ignition interlock requirement for up to one year
- Jail time for up to 30 days
- An alcohol and substance abuse assessment along with mandatory alcohol classes
If this is your second or third DUI conviction in New Jersey, your fines will increase. You could also face more time in jail, an increased number of community service hours and stricter requirements for attending alcohol or substance abuse courses. The potential penalties are more severe if your BAC is higher than .10 percent.
It’s crucial that you contact an experienced and reputable criminal defense attorney as soon as you are charged and/or arrested for a DUI on Thanksgiving. Contact Gelman Law, LLC today for a consultation.