If you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, you may be wondering what the potential DWI penalties in New Jersey are. Here’s a run-through of the penalties prescribed by the New Jersey legislature. In New Jersey, a distinction is made between a BAC that is at least .08 but less than .10; penalties are higher for being caught with a BAC that is .10 or higher.
First DWI Offense
Generally, for a first-time offense, you’re looking at: three months’ loss of driving privileges, minimum of twelve hours in jail (and no more than 30 days), and $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years. You may be ordered to have an alcohol abuse assessment and take classes or have to pay more in court fees. Note that if you’re caught with a BAC that is at least .10, you will lose driving privileges for at least seven months and no longer than one year.
If your DWI was in a school zone your penalties will be enhanced by an additional fine of between $500 and $800 and a potential 60 additional days in jail.
Second DWI Offense
Unlike first-time offenses, second and third-time DWI offenses do not take into account whether the BAC was less than .10 or not. Penalties are the same as long as the BAC is .08 or greater.
You will face the following penalties: fine between $500 and $1,000, 30 days community service, 12-48 hours driving school, $3,000 insurance surcharge, at least 2 days in jail and not more than 90, two years license suspension, and ignition interlock system installation for driver’s license to be restored.
Third or More DWI Offense
A third DWI in New Jersey is costly. Here are the DWI penalties in New Jersey associated with it: $1,000 fine, up to 90 days community service, 12-48 hours driving school, $4,500 insurance surcharges, 180 days in jail, 10-year license suspension, ignition interlock device.
As you can see, DWI penalties in New Jersey are some of the harshest in the nation. If you are charged with even a first-time offense, it’s imperative that you contact a professional DWI defense attorney who will fight these serious charges for you. Contact The Gelman Law Firm today if you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey.